Wave

A train journey

A stranger, I

A mother, saree clad

Her daughter, very shy 

Lost, I was

in my own thought, to notice

Hugging her mother ever so tight, she stood

Her poor mother, drained still stood smiling through her nose pins 

Her smile, meek, intimidated by the crowd around

Her child, a clear opposite, stood passing smiles around to grimacing onlookers

Then buried her head in her mama’s torso 

Not knowing earphones block smiles too

Corner of my eye, I caught her little action

She smiled at me, repeating the shy burial

A flicker of fear on maa’s face, 

of response her child’s innocence might receive

I smile back

She waves her hand as she leaves

She waves her maa’s worries 

She waives distorted boundaries. 

Leave a Reply

